Congress Agrees on a Tax Bill. What Does Proposed Tax Bill Mean for Older Americans? Learn More.

Social Butterfly

Re: AARP The Magazine's Be Healthy, Stay Healthy Sweepstakes

Message 101 of 437

Dear Hector: 

I was also a fitness trainer and swimming instructor for over 25 years, and I must inform you that while swimming is great exercise for anyone of any age (my sons were swimming as infants and I still swim), swimming does not help osteoporosis.   It doesn't build bone.  People must add weight bearing exercise in order to build bone.  Have your swimming clients add strength training exercises such as walking, lifting light weights, wall push ups, etc.,  and tell them to try to win the FitBit for encouragement! 

77 year old runner!

Report Inappropriate Content
Info Seeker

Message 102 of 437

Good afternoon.

I have been a personal trainer and Aquatic Instructor for over seventeen years here in Central Florida.

The majority of my clients are seniors. I encourage those clients that are concerned with Osteoporosis to join my Aquatic exercise class. To their delite, most of them fit, and some of them have lost a few pounds. The low impact on the bones and joints is a plus.

Sincerely,

Hector H Suarez

Info Seeker

Message 103 of 437

Is this how I enter to win the Fitbit?

Info Seeker

Message 104 of 437

I would love a fit bit! Ive been on a healthy journey working out and eating eell for a few months. This would help!

Social Butterfly

Message 105 of 437

At age 77 and having been a runner for 36 years, I just broke a bone in my foot while running.  A bone scan showed osteoporosis and I've been advised to "walk, don't run".  This is going to kill my brain!  I'd love a fitbit so I know how much exercise I'm getting when I'm walking and how much I need to walk to get enough excercise to maintain my physical conditioning. 

Info Seeker

Message 106 of 437

I could really use a fitbit.  My pedometer doesn't track everything a fitbit does.

Social Butterfly