AARP Members Enjoy Exclusive Discounts on Travel, Dining and More. Join Today

Highlighted
Treasured Social Butterfly

Re: Artwork From Sessions Of Expressive Drawing And Creativity

Message 1 of 7
Hi Joy,Yes the techniques are amazing, also the results, I was surprised so often by that.
Report Inappropriate Content
Info Seeker

Message 2 of 7
I am Joy Hellman and own an art studio in NC teach children and adults I used expressive drawing in my class and also a group that I have on Facebook I found the techniques truly amazing/

Message 3 of 7

Thank you Pam, so glad you enjoyed it, maybe this winter I can get back into it.~Jen

Message 4 of 7

Prosecco62 wrote:

Jen43, I am fascinated by your artistry!  Have you been studying art prior to your exposure to AARP's "art sessions?"  You have a lot of talent.  Have you displayed your work in shows?  What media to you feel most comfortable with?  ~  Mimi

Hi Mimi, I've been painting for over 40 years now, I started out with oils, love how they blended, was facinated with the old masters, studied and copied a lot of their work, loved Rembrant, this is one of my eariler works, based on one of his, done in oils, he was so wonderful with light and drapeing of cloth.

IMG_0792.JPG

I took some lessons at a local college,mostly self taught, entered local art shows.

I now paint in acrylics, oils became too expensive, and the odor of thinners and turpintine started to bother me,

I'm really comfortable with the acrylics now, and that's what I've used for the past 20 years or so, but my art sessions here on aarp was my first experience with expressive drawing, I really enjoyed it.

My painting time is really limited now, as my time is not my own now, but I still sketch, and find ways to be creative when I can.

Thank you for your comments.~Jen

Valued Social Butterfly

Message 5 of 7

Prosecco62 wrote: