Exclusive Military Offer: Save 20% on Your AARP Membership. Activate Your Membership Today

Info Seeker

Re: Most memorable vacation spots

Message 1 of 13 (1,887 Views)
Paris, France in early summer. We did last summer, walked or took public transportation, ate at restaurants recommended by locals we met. We learned that if we tried to speak some French everyone tried to speak enough English so we were able to communicate to everyone's satisfaction.
Info Seeker

Message 2 of 13 (1,887 Views)
Sounds like an adventure.  I think it is wonderful to have a vacation with a purpose.  Great job!
In Response to Re: Most memorable vacation spots:
My son & I were driving back from Xela, Guatemala where we did volunteer work at an orphanage. I'm an artist & took supplies with me. I taught the kids  three different technques. We brought them back & sold them, all proceeds going back to the orphanage. We were driving back to Oakland through Mexico when the car broke down. It was in a small town half an hour north of Acapulco. After we ordered the neccesary part we had such a wonderful time.  It cost us $1 each day to take the shuttle to the beach. It was fun to splash in the ocean but too rough to swim but there was a warm lagoon across the road. It was lined wtih thatch roofed restaurants. We had a rope swing. We had cable TV & watched movies with famous people that we never saw here. We were the only gringos in town & the peope were so wonderful, taking pride in meeting us. Not only were the only gringos but a mother & son. We went back to Xela two more years, with other family members. We did the artwork the first time we went back. I'm still marketing those paintings.
Posted by NancyDonohue72

Info Seeker

Message 3 of 13 (1,887 Views)