Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

What can I do? My Mom keeps feeding the dog people food and its making him sick

Periodic Contributor

What can I do? My Mom keeps feeding the dog people food and its making him sick

I have been caring for my Mom for about 3 years now and over the last couple of years she has been progressively not remembering things. The last year she has been more and more feeding my dog things such as cantaloupe and bread which make him very sick. I have lost my temper, stayed cool and begged her to stop feeding him even put little signs in the kitchen and her bedroom that say "PLEASE DONT FEED THE DOG" . She promises me she wont do it again and yet she does. I don't even know where to go now. In her episodes of dementia she feeds the dog. ots making him sick.. Any suggestions?

0 Kudos

I’ve done all of the above!  Your question could have been mine.  Did you find anything that works?  I have only been moms caregiver for 7 months.  It’s driving me nuts.

0 Kudos

Old thread, but here is a worst case possibility for you: Your dog or cat could die. Really.

I have a 101-year-old mother with both dementia and narcissistic personality disorder (not caused by the dementia; she's always been narcissistic, and I had to undergo years of healing from her self-absorbed behavior in order to create a somewhat successful life for myself; plus, I'm a former psychologist, and I am fully able to diagnose narcissism). I've cared for her for 9 years, in her own home with my husband. My husand and I both lost our jobs and careers during the recession, have never recoverd financially, and lost our own home to foreclosure--moving in with mom solved two problems at once, her need for a caregiver and our need for a living space.