Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Taking care of mom

Hi, I am a nurse and a caregiver for my mom. A year ago, my mom fell at home and hit her head. She ended up with bleeding on the brain which left her with dementia and stroke-like symptoms. She is unable to walk and also suffers from sundowners at night.

Before all this happened, my mother was very active. She took care of my farther who was suffering from Altzheimer's. My dad passed away last January, but before then, I was caring for both of them in my home.

I ended up quitting my job to care for them because I could not keep up with caring for them and having a job was too much. My mom is 24-7 care. She has a stage 3 pressure sore on her tailbone fron when she was either in the hospital or nursing home for "rehab". The nursing home gave her 10 minurtes of therapy a day and then Medicare discharged her due to no progression. Well , 10 minurtes a day is not much therapy and no wonder she didn't progress!!

Anyway, due to her pressure ulcer, she is only allowed to be up for an hour a day. She is quite depressed. She doesn't care for TV, but will listen to the radio. 

Does anyone have any suggestions of activities I can do with her while she is in bed to give her a little more stimulation? She doesn't care for puzzles, but will watch someone playing a game but   will not participate.

Thank you,

0 Kudos
AARP Expert

@eunicef403167 I'm so sorry to hear of yours and your mom's challenges. Caregiving while grieving for your Dad and having to stop working - all of it is a lot to deal with. Your mom is so lucky to have you! My mom had many falls and it was always my fear she would have a brain bleed. I, too, have been caregiving for both my parents for the past 10+ yrs (living with me the past 5 yrs) my Dad has Alzheimer's and my Mom passed on 4 yrs ago after many years of health issues including a stroke 25 yrs earlier. I totally am with you on how stressful and challenging it can all be...