Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Elder Caregiver Concerns

I have been caring for my 92 year old Mother for the last five years. She has been in relatively good health except for her knees. She walks with a walker and I clean and cook for her and I am her transportation. 

My Mother has always been paranoid about her possessions. When she can't find something, she is sure that someone has taken it. Lately it has become worse. She also can't take her meds. She forgets to take them or feels if one works then two will be better. She also remembers things that never happened ( recent) . When you confront her about these issues she becomes belligerent and refuses to discuss it. I took over her meds and she was mad!! She hated giving up control. She puts her foot down like a little child and stands her ground on everything even if she is wrong. This is not my Mom. 

I love her and don't know how to deal with this different lady. HELP!!

please!!!

Marmath
0 Kudos
Contributor

Hang in there, it will be okay. She is still your Mom but there are changes happening. She may be just as confused as you are regarding what is happening. Sometimes just talking openly helps.
0 Kudos
Contributor

Hi,

I think your mom is getting frustrated and does not know how to handle her emotions like she did when she was younger.  It's hard but please be patient with her and listen.  Maybe try to change the subject and get her mind on something more pleasing to think about. 

Beth

Kudos
Views
0 Kudos
AARP Expert

@martiedeal wrote:

I have been caring for my 92 year old Mother for the last five years. She has been in relatively good health except for her knees. She walks with a walker and I clean and cook for her and I am her transportation.